Tammy Safi, Astrologer in Sydney

The houses in an astrology chart help describe where in your life, the signs and planets are playing their roles. When your natal chart has one planet or more in one of the houses, it gives the Astrologer more insight. This will all make more sense once you read what each house represents, there are 12 houses to a chart, which looks like a 12 piece pie chart.

1st House - Aries and Mars
The 1st House is all about our identity. The outer layer of our persona, and what the world sees as us. For example, most folk don't show other individuals their true selves, be it good or not, who we truly are only we know. Looking at a homeless person lying in the street, all we may see is their dirty clothes and unwashed bodies, resulting in us perceiving them as poor, mentally ill, downtrodden, alcoholics. Yet truly we don't know the real man or woman inside.

2nd House - Taurus and Venus
The 2nd House is all about material security in life. Do we have enough? Have we got enough possessions or money or both to be safe? This house can bring worry about being able to survive. Unless we are confident in our ability to take care of ourselves.

3rd House - Gemini and Mercury
The 3rd House is all about communication in all it's forms. There is a need to learn and teach, by writing, reading, speaking at rallies etc. Verbal expression of the thoughts and beliefs one has.

4th House - Cancer and the Moon
The 4th House dwells on the roots of the family. The home life, where we grew up. The mother figure. Our relationship with our direct and close family including our emotional relationship with it.

5th House - Leo and the Sun
In the 5th House, we have the opportunity to express ourselves through art, happiness and love. Here we create anything from giving birth to children, to writing a piece of music. It is about our creativity and where we go with it.

6th House - Virgo and Mercury
The 6th House is all about helping others. Where we give of ourselves and serve. Maybe as a volunteer or looking after aging parents. Usually in the 6th house we give in a way that is familiar to us, such as through our career or skills. Cooking, cleaning or technology skills. The 6th House may involve health and pets.

7th House - Libra and Venus
The 7th House is about our relationships. Relationships with our dearest, with our family and friends. More about how to create balance between you and the other person in the relationship. It can be an intense and important learning period, when challenged with situations which require compromise to work.

8th House - Pluto and Scorpio
Considered by most astrologers as the most challenging house, the 8th House is the house of Pluto. When you need to learn to share and trust the deepest of your possessions and secrets, or risk losing it all. It's the house of transformation. We can be faced with times leaving us totally helpless, and we need to let it happen and trust the universe all will be well.

9th House - Sagittarius and Jupiter
The 9th House of religion, travel, higher education and the law. It's the house which encourages becoming more knowledgeable and cultured in life. We do so in the 9th because we are seeking truth.

10th House - Capricorn and Saturn
The 10th House is about our position/career in this lifetime. Our career and offerings to the world. Our position or title in the world. This house has a little to do with our parents and their expectations of us. It can be looked at as the house of responsibility too, and can be highly emotional as it is based on what our parents want and think of us (career wise) as well as how that makes us feel.

11th House - Aquarius and Uranus
A favourite house of mine as it involves groups, communities and causes. This could also mean being part of a cult, jail, or monastery. It's the like-minded folk realm. Can revolve around good causes and helping the less advantaged in order to receive love.

12th House - Pisces and Neptune
Planets in this house will revolve around letting go of your ego and merging with the whole. Here we need seclusion. This house can also be all about sacrifice and giving up a part of us we have held too tightly. Living within your 12th house successfully will take you to higher ground, resulting in a stronger, happier you. Involves monasteries, meditation, karma and time alone.


A Natal Chart represents the position of planets at the time of birth. Most people know there are 12 signs in the zodiac. If you think of a pie chart divided into 12, the planets each sit within the space of one particular zodiac sign at one particular time. A Natal Chart shows this positioning at the time of our birth. Each planet is considered to 'rule' a zodiac sign, this does not change. This relationship gives the zodiac sign some of it's natural characteristics. These relationships between the zodiac signs and planets, are what we discuss during a Natal Chart reading.
More about the Planets here.


More about the Signs here.